Writings of Branko's Blog

All around Central Europe

God is my strength – also in social networking [blog]

Leave a comment


Just this weekend I visited Sweden and took part in a meeting that was organized by NOREA Sweden. As an encouragement, one of the things shared on that meeting was a very nice FB entry from a 15-year old member of the local church youth group:

Vadstena church, Sweden. Photo by Riggwelter, 2006, used with permission

God is my strength; Bible is my guide; Heaven is my goal; so put this in your logo and be a proud Christian :).

Quite a strong statement from a teenager – and she has 800 friends registered! That is social networking at its best: sharing the most important things of your life amid often not so important ones.

I saw the first snow of this season there. The youth group orchestrated a snowballs war, right after they discussed the Bible study and had some wonderful time together singing and sharing about the things that make them happy and content. What a blessing to have a youth group of 45 young people. I can only imagine the amount of snowballs flying all around the place…

Since it was just a day before the Judgment Sunday,  as a conclusion to our meeting our small group read from John 5:24: “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.”

Whenever the actual Judgment Day is going to be, we can be certain of one thing: we are a day closer to it… and this is the reason I am glad for the 800 FB friends of that girl, because they heard the message.

Leave a Reply

